Mental Health First Aid

Mental Health First Aid is a public education program that introduces participants to risk factors and warning signs of mental health problems, builds understanding of their impact and overviews appropriate supports. This 8-hour course uses roleplaying and simulations to demonstrate how to offer initial help in a mental health crisis and connect people to the appropriate professional, peer, social and self-help care. The program also teaches common risk factors and warning signs of specific illnesses like anxiety, depression, substance use, bipolar disorder, eating disorders and schizophrenia. Mental Health First Aid is included on the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP).

View full-size map

In the state of Oregon, more than 18,000 people are trained in Mental Health First Aid. Over one million people are trained nationally.

Course Types

Click on the links below for more information about each course type from Mental Health First Aid.

Mental Health First Aid Adult

Mental Health First Aid Youth

Mental Health First Aid Higher Education

Mental Health First Aid Older Adults

Mental Health First Aid Public Safety

Mental Health First Aid Military Members, Veterans and their Families

GOBHI’s Certified Instructors

Instructors are certified by the National Council for Behavioral Health

Erin Rust, Wasco/ Hood River County
erin.rust@gobhi.net
541-397-0542

Linda Watson, Grant County
linda.watson@gobhi.net
541-620-0444

Sumuer Watkins, Clatsop County
sumuer.watkins@gobhi.net
503-791-6650

Jonathan Hankins, Columbia County
jonathan.hankins@gobhi.net
541-591-5045

Eilene Flory, Gilliam County
eilene.flory@gobhi.net
541-771-7449

Kirie Capell, Malheur County
kirie.capell@gobhi.net
541-298-2101

CONTACT

Erin Rust
School Based Program Coordinator

Eastern Oregon Coordinator/ Instructor

541-397-0542

erin.rust@gobhi.net

Resources

National Council for Behavioral Health (MHFA)
mentalhealthfirstaid.org

Mental Health First Aid Oregon (AOCMHP)
mhfaoregon.org

Our Programs